Trinity Western University


Science Centre Expansion

On November 4, 2011, TWU President Jonathan S. Raymond, Ph.D., was joined by the Honorable Mark Warawa, Member of Parliament, Langley and the Honourable Rich Coleman, Minister Responsible for Energy and Mines, Minister Responsible for Housing, and MLA for Fort Langley-Aldergrove, to open the newly expanded Neufeld Science Centre.

“This is a blessing to the University,” said Raymond. “It significantly increases our capacity for advanced research, and it is paving the way for our students to come alongside faculty to get involved in the research enterprise.”

The 7,778 square foot expansion provided administrative space for the School of Nursing and research laboratories for the development of graduate programs in Biology and Chemistry. It also housed the new Dr. Jack Van Dyke Chemistry Research Laboratory that supported faculty research projects in areas such as “Green Chemistry”, plant chemical ecology, and polymer blends with the potential to be used in the clean up of toxic spills. accessed January 5, 2012

Fifteen months earlier, on August 17, 2010, Mayor Rick Green, Township of Langley, and Mayor Peter Fassbender, City of Langley, joined President Jonathan Raymond to break ground on the $3.9-million expansion to TWU's Science Centre, co-funded by the federal  Knowledge Infrastructure Program, with matching contributions from the Murdock Charitable Trust and the Arthur Child Foundation - will increase TWU's science and technology research capacity, and ability to generate Canadian health and environmental benefits and products. accessed May 27, 2011

See also 1994 - Neufeld Science Centre

  • #

    Breaking Ground

    President Raymond, Provost Dennis Jameson, Dean of the Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences Ka Yin Leung, and Associate Provost Sheldon Loeppky take part in the official sod-turning.

    view image

    Photograph: Danny Hsiao, University Communications, 2010

  • #


    (L-R) Craig Montgomery, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Chemistry; Bob Wood, Ph.D., Interim Provost; Mark Warawa, MP, Langley; Rich Coleman, Minster Responsible for Energy and Mines, Minister Responsible for Housing, and MLA for Fort Langley-Aldergrove; Jonathan S. Raymond, Ph.D., TWU President; and Jeremy Funk, Chair of TWU Board of Governors cut the ribbon for the Neufeld Science Centre expansion.

    view image

    Photograph: Rachel Pick, University Communications, 2011

back to top