DOLFO SET TO COMPETE AT 2012 PARALYMPIC GAMES

Braedon Dolfo - Photo credit - Matthew Murnaghan Canadian Paralympic Committee

TRACK AND FIELD
THURSDAY, AUGUST 30, 2012
PARALYMPICS

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

DOLFO SET TO COMPETE AT 2012 PARALYMPIC GAMES

LANGLEY, British Columbia – Trinity Western sprinter Braedon Dolfo (Langley, B.C.) is ready to take on the world and the recently signed Spartan will do just that, starting Friday, as the 18-year-old will represent Canada on the track at the 2012 Paralympic Games in London.

Dolfo, who is a T13 visually impaired athlete and will compete in the 100m, 200m and 4x100m, opens his Olympic endeavours Friday when he competes in the 100m semifinals at 11:00 a.m. PDT.

Watch LIVE streaming of track and field here: http://www.ctvolympics.ca/index.html

Follow Dolfo via Twitter @BDolfo93

Dolfo’s Olympic Schedule

Aug. 31 – 100m semifinals – 11:00 a.m. PDT (7:00 p.m. BST)
Sept. 1 – 100m final – 12:00 p.m. PDT (8:00 p.m. BST)
Sept. 5 – 4x100m heats – 4:26 a.m. PDT (12:46 p.m. BST)
Sept. 5 – 4x100m final – 2:32 p.m. PDT (10:32 p.m. BST)
Sept. 6 – 200m heats – 2:57 a.m. PDT (10:57 a.m. BST)
Sept. 6 – 200m semifinals – 12:10 p.m. PDT (8:10 p.m. BST)
Sept. 7 – 200m final – 11:51 a.m. PDT (7:51 p.m. BST)

The Spartans are also represented at the Paralympic Games by track and field coach Laurier Primeau, who is Canada’s Paralympic head coach for track and field, and sprinter Dylan Williamson, who is the guide for Canadian Dustin Walsh.

ABOUT TRINITY WESTERN TRACK & FIELD

This fall Trinity Western will enter its third year back competing in the CIS after a six-year hiatus.

After the Spartans returned to track and field in the fall of 2010, the program has taken huge strides in becoming a competitive group at both the Canada West and CIS levels.

In 2011-12, the Spartans made a triumphant return to both the Canada West and CIS podiums as Trinity Western collected six conference medals and two national medals.

At the CIS Championships, high jumper Emma Nuttall claimed the Spartans first gold medal since 2002 when Laura Wilson won in the 60m with a season’s best jump of 1.82m. On that same day, middle distance runner Fiona Benson captured a bronze medal in the 1500m with a time of 4:29.35.

On top of their double-medal effort at the CIS national championships, at the Canada West championships the Spartans also had an impressive showing as Calum Innes (60m) and Benson (1500m) won gold medals, Nuttall (high jump) and Benson (1000m) each captured silver medals and Blair Johnston (1500m) and Jake Powrie (pentathlon) earned bronze medals.

Over their history, the Spartans have a total of seven CIS medals in track and field, including two gold medals (Nuttall [high jump] – 2012 and Laura Wilson [60m] – 2002), one silver medal (Ian Sharp [1000m] – 2002) and four bronze medals (Benson [1500m] – 2012, Justin Beanblossom [600m] – 2002 and 2003 and Aleena Zibin [Shot Put] – 2003).

-TW-

Last Updated: 2013-08-22
Author: Mark Janzen

STATS