TWU to award Stephanie Chung and the Honourable Stockwell Day with honourary doctorates

The Trinity Western University Board of Governors, and President Jonathan S. Raymond, Ph.D., are pleased to announce the Former Leader of the Canadian Alliance Party and Leader of the Opposition, the Honourable Stockwell Day, and internationally celebrated concert pianist, Stephanie Chung, will be presented with honourary doctorates at TWU’s 50th Anniversary Commencement.

“In awarding an honourary doctorate, there is always the opportunity that by the character and quality of the person honoured, the University is honoured,” said President Raymond, “This is the case for Trinity Western University in recognizing the Honourable Stockwell Day and Stephanie Chung. Both exemplify the best in Christian leadership, competence in their field, and godly character in their lives.”
internationally celebrated concert pianist, Stephanie ChungTWU’s first honourary doctorate was presented at the University’s 25th anniversary commencement in 1987. The degree was conferred on the Honourable Jake Epp, Minister of Health and Welfare, because of his exemplification of a positive, goal-oriented Christian leader, who lived out TWU’s Mission Statement.

This year, the 50th anniversary graduation ceremony will be held on April 28 at the Langley Events Centre—a much larger space than previous years at the Abbotsford Pentecostal Assembly. With Day as the featured guest speaker and Chung as the performing artist, the ceremony—for the first time—will be open to the public.


Stephanie Chung is a professional pianist who began her musical training at an early age in Seoul, South Korea. She obtained her Bachelor’s of Music at the Seoul National University and pursued her Master's, majoring in piano, at the University of Southern California, Los Angeles. She is currently the conductor for the Zion Mission Women’s Choir in Vancouver, which she lead at the Palace of Korean President in the Blue House in 2010, and in a performance at Carnegie Hall in New York in 2011.

Chung has been involved in a variety of music projects. She was the Asian Director for the Casalmaggiore International Music Festival in Italy and the Director of the Pacific Rim Conservatory of Music and Arts. She is a board member for the Vancouver Opera and was selected to be Chair of the Voice of Pacific Rim. She is a committee member of Vancouver Symphony’s Lovers’ Ball, and in April 2010, she conducted the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra.

Chung is the Vice President of the Vancouver Consular Circle, the ambassador of GAIN (Global Aid Network), and is the founder of Bethesda Parents’ Society, a support group for mothers and fathers of mentally handicapped children. Chung’s goal is to use music as a tool and an instrument to spread the gospel and love and blessings of God to many people as possible.

Stockwell Day

Stockwell Day was first elected to the Canadian House of Commons in 2000 and was re-elected in 2004, 2006 and 2008. Upon his election in 2000, he was named Leader of the Official Opposition and remained in this role until December 2001.

Following that, Day served as Official Opposition Critic for Foreign Affairs. Day has been Vice-Chair of the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade. In 2006, Day was appointed Minister of Public Safety and became a member of the Cabinet Committee on Priorities and Planning. Upon his re-election in 2008, Day was appointed Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway. He was also appointed Chair of the Cabinet Committee on Afghanistan.

From 1986 to 2000, Day represented Red Deer North in the Alberta Legislature, where he served in the Progressive Conservative Government in a variety of senior roles including Chief Whip, Government House Leader, Minister of Labour and Minister of Social Services. From 1997 to 2000, he was Provincial Treasurer (Minister of Finance) and acting Premier. As the Alberta Treasurer, Minister Day introduced Canada’s first single rate (flat) tax.


Dr. A. Jacob Epp (1987)
Dr. Benjamin A. Sawatsky (1988)
Dr. Donald S. Reimer (1988)
Dr. Catherine Nicholl (1989)
Dr. Kenneth Meyer (1990)
Dr. Keith A. Price (1990)
Dr. David E. Enarson (1992)
Dr. Calvin B. Hanson (1992)
Dr. Henry J. Block (1993)
Dr. J. G. Neufeld (1993)
Dr. John H. Redekop (1994)
Dr. Brian Stiller (1995)
Dr. Maxine Hancock (1996)
Dr. Benno W. Friesen (1996)
Dr. William J. Hamel (1998)
Dr. Allan Skidmore (1999)
Dr. David L. McKenna (2000)
Dr. Thomas G. Addington (2001)
Dr. D. Malcolm Seath (2001)
Dr. Carson Pue (2001)
Dr. Jeanette L. Hsieh (2002)
Dr. David A. Twiest (2002)
Dr. James R. Penner (2002)
Dr. J. Donald Scott (2003)
Dr. Ann McGee Cooper (2003)
Dr. Eleanor Clitheroe (2004)
Dr. Gerald Baron (2004)
Dr. Kenneth R. Davis (2004)
Dr. Rod J.K. Wilson (2004)
Dr. John A. Cherrington (2005)
Dr. Lorna Dueck (2005)
Dr. Stanley J. Grenz (2005)
Dr. Michael Walrod (2005)
Dr. Gary Bartholomew (2006)
Dr. Sharol Lynn Josephson (2006)
Dr. Victor Ling (2006)
Dr. Earl Stevick (2006)
Dr. Glen Shepherd (2007)
Dr. Raymond J. Nelson (2008)
Dr. Donald M. Page (2008)
Dr. Chan K. Thong (2008)
Dr. Deborah C. Grey (2009)
Dr. Marvin P. Kehler (2009)
Dr. Michael Peterson (2010)
Dr. Hannu Hauka (2010)
Dr. Robert N. Botsford (2011)


RT @twucompsci: We are getting ready for the ReBoot: Robotics 101 camp for grade 6-7 students @TrinityWestern @ProfTsang @twucompsci https:…

1 day ago

The colours are finally starting to match the season!

2 days ago

RT @TWU_pres: I am grateful for this warm welcome after the inauguration. This is what it looks like to be President of a great University…

3 days ago

RT @HistoryTwu: For #WomensHistoryMonth, we're highlighting women who #MakeAnImpact. Check out Anna Vogt's story at

4 days ago

Today was a historic day for Trinity Western University. Today we celebrated the official appointment of the 5th President and Vice-Chancellor: Dr. Mark Husbands.

You can find the recorded live stream of the inauguration ceremony on

1 week ago

Join us as we officially install Dr. Mark Husbands with his inauguration as the fifth President and Vice-Chancellor of Trinity Western University.
10:00 AM (PDT)

Live Stream:

1 week ago