Immerse yourself in what you love best, whether it’s visual or performing arts, media, or communication. Grow with others who are just as passionate and exceptional as you. That’s the beauty of learning in community. You’ll find your people here.

SAMC professors are people of faith and experts in their fields who are committed to seeing you thrive. As your mentors, they will build a safe and welcoming space where you will be challenged to take bold steps, explore ideas of faith and meaning, and push the boundaries of your discipline—to fearlessly engage with and transform culture.

SAMC is home to some of the most collaborative people on campus. Collaboration is key to creating a film, producing a play, publishing a magazine, or bringing a piece of music to life. Master this skill and, as our graduates have learned, you will have your choice of careers. School of the Arts, Media + Culture students are also equipped with other essential and irreplaceable skills. Writers, performers, and directors possess a deep understanding of others—what moves them, inspires them, brings them together. Artists and designers see connections and solutions that others might miss. A thoughtful, savvy, empathetic communicator brings value to a company that no piece of technology could ever replace.

Whether you plan to open your own studio, lead worship, or manage a box office, your time at TWU will prepare you to bring meaning to a world desperate for Christ’s truth, compassion, reconciliation, and hope. You create because it is what God made you to do. Come find your people here.

Student Information (Building Contacts)

Upcoming Events

No events to show.

Latest News

Feature Card
What's Onstage

Our theatre productions are a favourite “must do” on campus, featuring collaborative work by students across all disciplines in the university. We mount four productions in our theatre season, including a musical and a Shakespeare play in alternating years.

Feature Card
Alumni+ Tour

Experience the best of London and Paris with a community of TWU alumni, faculty, and friends! Sacred spaces, splendid places – you’ll be guided and educated by our own David Squires and make memories to last a lifetime.

Feature Card
HKIN Rio Olympics group
Travel Studies

Travel studies allow you to immerse yourself in a different culture. Every moment spent abroad is an opportunity to learn. TWU professors lead the courses, joined by guest speakers who provide a local perspective.

Meet the Faculty

Name Location Phone Email
Agodzo, Divine Divine Agodzo, M.A.
Sessional Instructor of Media + Communication
Vernon Strombeck Centre #109 +1 (604) 513-2121 ext. 3356 divine.agodzo@twu.ca
Nick C. Apivor, B.Mus.
Part-time Affiliate Music Instructor of Percussion
- - nicholas.apivor@twu.ca
Paolo Bortolussi, DMA
Instructor in Music - Flute
Music Practice Facility -
Loranne Brown, MFA
Sessional Assistant Professor of Communication
Vernon Strombeck Centre +1 (604) 888-7511 ext. 3557 loranne.brown@twu.ca
Marea Chernoff, MMus
Instructor in Music - Oboe
Music Practice Facility -
Curtis L. Congo, Ed.D.
Part-time Instructor of TWU GLOBAL
- - CurtisC@twu.ca
Christy Derksen, M.Mus.
Part-time Instructor of Music, Music Affiliate - Voice
Music Practice Facility +1 (604) 513-2121 ext. 3345 Christy.Derksen@twu.ca
Craig Erickson, M.F.A.
Part-time Instructor of Theatre
- - Craig.Erickson@twu.ca
Gregory Farrugia, BMus
Instructor in Music - Trombone
- -
Carmen Fast Hollett, MMus
Accompanist
- - carmen.fast@twu.ca
Tony Gallo, Ph.D.
Instructor in Music - Saxophone, Jazz Combo
Music Practice Facility -
Laurel Gasque, MEd
Instructor in Art + Design
- -
Jef Gibbons
Instructor in Music
- - jef.gibbons@twu.ca
Andrey Goncharov, B.Sc.
Part-time Instructor of Game Development
- - Andrey.Goncharov@twu.ca
Erica Grimm, Ph.D.
Professor of Art
Robert N. Thompson +1 (604) 513-2121 ext. 3142 ericag@twu.ca
Joshua Hale, MFA
Associate Professor of Art + Design, Chair, Department of Art + Design
Robert N. Thompson Bldg. 253 +1 (604) 513-2121 ext. 3357 joshua.hale@twu.ca
Wes Janzen, DMA
RETIRED, Professor Emeritus of Music
- - janzen@twu.ca
Angela Konrad, MFA
Professor of Theatre, Co-Chair, Department of Theatre
Robert N. Thompson +1 (604) 888-7511 ext. 3576 angelak@twu.ca
Ron Koyanagi, B.Ed.Mus.
Part-time Affiliate Music Instructor
Music Practice Facility - Ron.Koyanagi@twu.ca
Russell Leng, MFA
Sessional Instructor of Art + Design
- - russell.leng@twu.ca
Scott K. Macklin, M.Phil., Ph.D., Part-time Instructor of Media + Communication
Executive Director, Online Learning, Part-time Instructor of Media + Communication
Reimer Student Centre 2nd Floor +1 (604) 513-2121 ext. 3377 scott.macklin@twu.ca
Richard Mingus, MMus
Instructor in Music - Horn
- - richardmingus@hotmail.com
Kate Muchmore Woo, MFA, MA
Associate Professor of Theatre, Co-Chair, Department of Theatre
Robert N. Thompson Bldg. +1 (604) 513-2121 ext. 3572 kate.woo@twu.ca
Kerri Norris, MFA
Instructor in Theatre
- -
Alison Nystrom, MMus
Instructor in Music - Voice
Music Practice Facility - alison.nystrom@twu.ca
Tim Olsen
Instructor in Music - Guitar
- -
David Rushton, Ed.D.
RETIRED, Professor Emeritus of Music
- -
Helma Sawatzky, Ph.D. (cand.)
Instructor in Art + Design
- - helma@helmasawatzky.com
Kevin P. Schut, Ph.D.
Professor of Media + Communication, Chair, Department of Media + Communication, Game Development Program Lead
Vernon Strombeck Centre 119 +1 (604) 513-2121 ext. 3603 kevin.schut@twu.ca
Andrea Soberg, MIRHR, CPHR
Acting Dean, School of Business, Professor Human Resource Management and International Business, Director, Centre for Global Entrepreneurship
Trinity Western University, Langley/BC +1 (604) 513-2121 ext. 3337 andreas@twu.ca
David Squires, Ph.D.
Professor of Music
Music Practice Facility +1 (604) 888-7511 ext. 3469 david.squires@twu.ca
Eric Stein, M.A.
Part-time Instructor of Game Development
- - eric.stein@twu.ca
Bill Strom, Ph.D.
Professor of Media + Communication
Vernon Strombeck Centre +1 (604) 513-2121 ext. 3224 strom@twu.ca
Betty Suderman, DMA
Instructor in Music - Piano
Music Practice Facility -
Jon Thompson, DMA
Assistant Professor of Music, Chair Department of Music
Music Practice Facility +1 (604) 888-7511 ext. 3122 jont@twu.ca
Allan Thorpe, DMA
Associate Professor of Music, Director of Instrumental Activities
Music Practice Facility +1 (604) 888-7511 ext. 3134 thorpe@twu.ca
Joel Tranquilla, DMA
Associate Professor of Music, Director of Choral Activities
Music Practice Facility +1 (604) 513-2121 ext. 2053 joel.tranquilla@twu.ca
Ned Vankevich, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Media + Communication
Vernon Strombeck Centre +1 (604) 888-7511 ext. 3227 ned.vankevich@twu.ca
Elizabeth Volpé Bligh
Instructor in Music - Harp
- - evolpebligh@gmail.com
Heilwig von Koenigsloew, MMus
Instructor in Music - Violin, Viola
Music Practice Facility -
John Wang, M.A.
Sessional Assistant Professor of Art + Design
Music 109 - john.wang@twu.ca
Jeff R. Warren, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor of Music and Interdisciplinary Arts
- - jeffrwarren@gmail.com
Adrian Wee, MMC
Sessional Assistant Professor of Leadership
TWU Richmond +1 (604) 513-2193 adrian.wee@twu.ca
Cathrie Ka Wai Yuen, M.Mus.
Part-time Instructor of Music, Associate Conductor
- - cathrie.yuen@twu.ca